Jon E. Johnson (Retired)

faded line.jpg

After over 50 years, Mr. Johnson has retired from the practice of law.

Jon E. Johnson is a native Floridian who grew up in the Orlando area and who has practiced law and been an integral part of the Brevard County Community from 1966-2018.

Jon attended the University of Florida earning his BSBA in 1961 and returned there after serving in the United States Army to earn his law degree in 1965. He also served in the U.S. Army Reserves from 1962 to 1967.

He was tapped into Florida Blue Key and inducted in the University of Florida Hall of Fame. Immediately after graduation he became an associate with the law firm of Strawn & Rumburger and in 1968 became a full partner with the law firm of Sands, Smalbein, Eubank, Johnson & Rosier, P.A. As a partner and administrator he assisted in the day-to-day operations of running a four-office practice, which employed over 42 attorneys and virtually covered nearly the entire State of Florida.

In 1983 Jon was in the first group of lawyers who became Board Certified in Civil Trial Practice in the State of Florida. He was admitted to practice in all State and Federal Courts including the Middle District of Florida and the 11th and 5th District Courts and the Supreme Court of the United States. Jon received an AV rating by Martindale Hubbell.

Jon has managed thousands of files during his career as a litigator and has tried over 250 cases to conclusion.  Jon  has recently been honored for his 50 years in practice.  

Bar Admissions

  • Florida, 1966

  • U.S. Court of Appeals 11th Circuit, 1981

  • U.S. Supreme Court, 1980

  • U.S. District Court Middle District of Florida


  • University of Florida College of Law, Gainesville, Florida

    • J.D.

  • University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida

    • B.A.

Representative Cases

  • Hoffman v. Jones, 280 So.2d 431 (Supreme Court of Florida)

Professional Associations and Memberships

  • Brevard County Bar Association, 1966 - 2016

  • Central Florida Trial Lawyers Association, 2012 - 2016